Native American Jewelry – Can you help with this buckle?

Hi Paula,

I have a Native American eagle belt buckle. Silvertone with turquoise chip inlay. The back of the buckle has an Indian head as the mark/logo. Would this be a specific artist or school? The metal is heavy.
Thank you, Wanda

((Note: To preserve Wanda’s privacy since she is going to try to sell her buckle, I am not using the photo of her buckle but of one very similar to it as an example.))

 

Plated Steel Manufactured Non-Native American Buckle

Plated Steel Manufactured Non-Native American Buckle

 

Hi Wanda,

From looking at the photo, I’d say chrome or nickel plated steel.
I can see a bit of evidence of the plating wearing off the back.
It just doesn’t look like Sterling Silver but the only way to know for sure is to have it tested. I’m 99% sure it is not.

This would not be Native American made. I’m 100% sure on that. Therefore it should not be called Native American.

The material used for chips doesn’t look like natural turquoise or coral – they are too bright and artificial looking.  I’m 100% sure on that.

I’ve never seen that type of hallmark on the back nor is it in any of my hallmark books. It is likely the logo of the manufacturer.
Paula

Thank you, Paula
I appreciate the input. Knowing what it is NOT is helpful when I list it on eBay.
You are kind to have taken the time to help me. Now that I have your website, it is in My Favorites and I will visit often.
Take care, Wanda

My pleasure Wanda,
It is good when sellers such as yourself take the time to find out what they have before describing it and possibly inadvertently (and in other cases intentionally) misrepresenting it as Native American – which, by the way, is illegal on eBay and against Federal laws in the US. More on all that in a future post. It is always best to be informed and honest when selling. Best of luck.

Authentic Zuni Inlay Belt Buckle by Leslie and Gladys Lamy

Authentic Zuni Inlay Belt Buckle by Leslie and Gladys Lamy

Share

Leave a Reply

