Native American Jewelry – Putting on a Cuff Bracelet

Hi Paula,
I have a question about the bracelets…
When putting a cuff bracelet on and off it has to be big enough to fit over your hand or the gap wide enough to fit on the narrowest/smallest part of your wrist.   That being said, how could a person wear a cuff bracelet above the wrist bone when it will naturally fall towards the hand when your arm is down and flop around when you move …  unless, you squeeze it tight (bend it) once on, and bend it open again to take it off.. ?  Is a cuff bracelet suppose to fit like a bangle bracelet and be loose (fall to the hand) or is it suppose to stay still (fitted) when you wear it?
I have a couple bracelets (western style) that I received as gifts.  I’ve been bending them to get them on and off so they don’t flop around so much but never bend them to a point where the gap is closed and it is fitted (stays between my hand and wrist bone)….  My wrist is 6 1/4″, bracelets are 6 3/4″ including gap.
Appreciate your reply.
Kindest regards,
Carolyn
Good questions Carolyn,
I’ll answer your queries specifically, but in the meantime, please read these two articles……..
After you’ve read them, let me know if some of your questions have been answered and if not, what the new ones are !
Paula

Hi again Carolyn,
First of all, a cuff bracelet is never put over the hand. If it would fit over the hand, it would be too big. Cuff bracelets are put on by utilizing the gap as described in the above referenced article.

How one wears a bracelet is entirely a matter of personal preference and taste. When I wear a group of bangle bracelets, I want them to be very loose and move up and down my wrist and lower arm as I move my arm and hands. Bangles are for days when metal clinking is not only good, but desired !
 

Sterling Silver Navajo Silverdust Bangle Bracelets


I also like to wear my link bracelets and link watches loose, that is so that they slide up and down my wrist.
 

Sterling Silver and 12K Gold Navajo Link Bracelet by Alonzo Mariano


As far as cuff bracelets, if they are narrow bracelets, I prefer to wear them low on my wrist – below the prominent wrist bone. If they are wider, then I like them over the top of the prominent wrist bone.
 

Example of Narrow Cuff - Sterling Silver and 14K Gold Continuous Water Bracelet by Bruce Morgan

Example of a Wide Cuff - Sterling Silver Sandcast and Kingman Turquoise Bracelet by Harrison Bitsui


There is a “sweet spot” in terms of bracelet size, gap and the person’s wrist size as to where a bracelet will “work”. If a bracelet is the right size, you can wear a cuff above your wrist and it will stay there. If it is too big, then, as you say, it will slip down.

From the dimensions you mention in your e-mail, it would seem almost impossible to keep that bracelet up above your wrist UNLESS you open it up to put it on, then squeeze the gap closed (eek!) once you get it on your wrist. Squeezing not only makes the bracelet misshapen but it can pop out inlay stones or loosen other stone settings. The bracelet below is made up of many small pieces of turquoise with sterling silver channel in between. If the bracelet below was spread open, then squeezed shut, the stone at the point of the bend would be lifted right out of their settings and popped out.

Zuni Turquoise Inlay Bracelet by Sheldon Lalio

So 6 3/4″ is too big for a 6 1/4″ wrist. You should be looking for a bracelet that is about 6 1/4″ total inside circumference which would be about 5 1/4″ from end to end inside and with a 1″ gap. That way you can put the bracelet on and off easily without opening and closing the gap.
Let me know if I can help further.

Share

One thought on “Native American Jewelry – Putting on a Cuff Bracelet

  1. Pingback: If I can’t squeeze an inlay bracelet to put it on, what is the proper way? | Native American Jewelry Tips

Leave a Reply

