Paula Please Help – Information on Navajo Artist Timothy Lee

Dear Paula

I have a beautiful belt buckle by the Navajo artist, “Timothy Lee”.  But, I can’t find any information about him anywhere, do you have anything by him or know of him??

Tallbear

Hi Tallbear,

Here is what it says in “Hallmarks of the Southwest” by Barton Wright.

Timothy Lee is a Navajo silversmith from the Mentmore, New Mexico region.

Hallmark is stamped full name in two lines of 1/16 Gothic print.

TIMOTHY
LEE

We have silver beads made by Betty Lee and Susie Lee.

And turquoise rings by Larson Lee.

Sterling Silver and Turquoise Ring by Larson Lee, Navajo

Maybe someone else will write in with more information on Timothy Lee.

If you have a question about your jewelry, use the ASK PAULA A QUESTION feature in the right hand column of this blog.


Share

6 thoughts on “Paula Please Help – Information on Navajo Artist Timothy Lee

  1. Hi Paula,

    I have a beautiful black necklace that I purchased in Arizona over 20 years ago. It is black beads strung together with a silver chain. The pendant is silver, shield with feathers hanging on the bottom. There doesn’t seem to be any markings on the back. I have pictures. Can you tell me about the beads. They actually seem to be like a plastic type of material, but find it hard to believe that an artisan would use plastic. Everything else is silver.

    • If the piece is as old as you indicate, I can tell you that often in older accessories, plastic beads were often used because they were considered a trade item back when fur trappers still bartered for goods/services. These plastic beads were introduced to the Native American peoples who traded blankets, furs, hides, etc. and then included them in their jewelry/silversmithing. They are often considered valuable (despite being plastic) due to the extreme age of the bead. They are even referred to as ‘antique’. Hope this information helps. 🙂 T. Brooks

  2. I have an unbelievably Beautiful chunky silver bracelet with 2 rows of turquoise and Silver Beading by Timothy Lee also. I will post what I can find on him!

    Dave Miller, Apex NC.

  3. Hi my name is Kelly and my grandfather passed away about 1516 years ago and one of his watch bands is Native American turquoise and silver and I was just wondering because engraved on the back of one side of it says Timothy Lee and this watch band like I said belong to my grandfather but I was wondering if you knew anything more about it because like I said this watch band my grandfather had it when I was about 4 years old till the day he died and like I said the only thing engraved on the back of it is Timothy Lee so I’m kind of at a loss I have no idea if it’s the same guy or not or silversmith Timothy Lee

Leave a Reply

