What is the best way to store Native American jewerly to keep it from tarnishing?

Paula,

What is the best way to store and or display sterling silver jewelry in order to keep it from getting tarnished?  Don’t want to have to keep polishing.

Thanks,

Tallbear

Hi Tallbear,

This is such a long overdue answer – I’m working my way through all the great questions. Have you read the article I have written on Care of Sterling Silver Native American Jewelry ?

I’ve taken some photos of the ways I store my own personal jewelry and will share some of these ideas with you – but these are just to get you started. I hope this will get you started into thinking of things you can do that suit your collection and needs.

For Valentines Days a couple of years ago I gave hubby a nice decanter of Corazon tequila that came in a cool wooden box with a neat brass hasp.

Well leave it to him to come up with a nifty storage cabinet for my silver beads.

Storage box for Navajo Pearls

He lined the box with anti-tarnish cloth, the type that lines your silverware storage box.  Then he mounted four pieces of tubing for hanging the beads and finished each off with a cool marble which not only looks great but keeps the beads from sliding off the end.

To allow the box to open without it dragging on the top of the vanity, he attached wooden discs on the bottom – these happen to be wooden wheels from model cars – available at hobby shops.

Some of my beads are vintage and have great old patina which I don’t remove but the newer beads stay very shiny in my little vault.

In fact, it worked so well, I bought him another bottle of that tequila and voila ! #2 has Indian Head pennies on the end of the rods instead of marble. How cool is this?

Watch for more articles featuring my personal jewelry storage solutions…….but I’m going to answer other questions in between…………enjoy !

Share

One thought on “What is the best way to store Native American jewerly to keep it from tarnishing?

  1. Pingback: More Sterling Silver Native American Jewelry Storage Ideas « Native American Jewelry Tips

Leave a Reply

