Wanted – Cheyenne River Arrowhead Pendant with Chief Greeting Morning Sun

MY GRANDMOTHER LENA LEBEAU-LOWDOG,GAVE ME THIS ARROW HEAD PENDANT .I HAD IT FOR 20 YRS FELL IN RAIN STORM AND SOME HOW IT BROKE OFF.I WENT BACH IN A STORM THAT SAME NIGHT AND CRAWLED AND RETRACED MY STEPS AND A FRIEND TO NO AVAIL I COULD NT FIND IT,  BROKE MY HEART BECAUSE MY GRANDMA PASSED.IT WAS MADE BY JOSTENS OR JOSLYNE?????I STILL SEARCHING MABEY YOU CAN POINT ME IN OR AROUND THE RIGHT DIRECTION I WOULD BE FOREVER GRATEFUL IT HAD AN NATIVE MAN STANDING WITH HIS ARMS UP OR OUT GREETING THE MORNING,FULL HEAD BONNET AND IN FRONT OF HIM WAS IN ENGLISH ,CHEYANNE RIVER …I’M HAVE BEEN AND STILL SEARCHING FOR THIS PENDANT.THANK YOU SINCERELY, RONNIE   your help would bless me and you will….! be blessed.i’m not rich but the great mystery would be very generous…i promise

Dear Ronnie,

Your search touches me. I know just what you mean about how something can mean so much when there is a connection to a special person in your life.

I’d like to help you try and locate a pendant like the one you lost, so to start out I’ve posted your request here on my blog because other readers might have ideas other than what I’ve listed below.

I think I might know the image that was on the pendant – I have seen a painting of a Native American man with a full head bonnet, his arms outstretched as he greeted the morning sun. I tried to find a copy of that painting so that I could post it here to see if that is the same image that was on your pendant. However, I could not find it.  But I did find this similar image – was the one on your pendant something like this but the man was standing, not on a horse?

Jostens is a company that makes school class rings and that sort of thing.  I’ve contacted them to see if they have ever made such a pendant. I’ll let you know if I hear back from them.  They do make items for  “Cheyenne River Community College” in Eagle Butte, South Dakota. Do you think the pendant was associated with the college or was the designation related to the Cheyenne River tribe?

I did a search on eBay and I do see that Jostens makes charms that range in size from 1-2 inches long. Is that about the size of the pendant you lost or was it larger?

Do you know how old the pendant might have been – what year it might have been from?

Jostens calls this an “arrowhead”. Is this the shape that your pendant was?

Or was it more of a true arrowhead shape like this?

At the bottom of this article, there is a link that says “Leave a Comment” – if you click on that and reply that way, then other readers can see your answers. With everyone working on this, perhaps we will find one !

I look forward to your reply.

UPDATE JUNE 29, 2011

I CONTACTED JOSTENS WITH ALL OF THE ABOVE INFORMATION AND RECEIVED THIS REPLY FROM A REP THAT HAS BEEN WORKING FOR THEM FOR OVER 30 YEARS.

” I am not familiar with this piece of jewelry at all. If you can tell me a little bit more, in addition to the physical description you provided, I may be able to dig a bit deeper.  For example, what organization provided or made this pendant available? Where, What Year and etc.  If you have any further info to provide to me, I will keep digging.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

