GT Hallmark on Sterling Silver and Turquoise Squash Blossom Necklace

Hi Paula,

I have a beautiful squash blossom necklace that is sterling silver with lots of turquoise. I believe that it’s Navajo, but I’m unsure. The back is stamped with “GT.” I’m wondering if I could send you a few photos of it and perhaps you might be able to tell me a little more about it? Just your opinion would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this message.

Cheers,
Erin

 

Hi Erin,

It is a nice looking necklace. It is made in the squash blossom style but the designs are not traditional squash blossoms. They look like leaves or feathers. I’m not really sure about the stones from the photos so can’t comment on them. It is unusual to have feathers hanging from a squash blossom necklace.

Sterling silver feathers are often used as dangles on Navajo necklaces but I can’t remember ever seeing them used on a large sized squash blossom necklace.

As far as the hallmark, I do not know who the artist is but perhaps another reader does.

 

Share

6 thoughts on “GT Hallmark on Sterling Silver and Turquoise Squash Blossom Necklace

  1. I also have a beautiful necklace with the same hallmark and a similarity in style. I would greatly appreciate any information you might find, Thanks,Bonita

  2. Hi. I have a concha belt I bought in the mid 1980s in Santa Fe that also has a forward slash over it then / G T but the T is like an extension of the G portion. So I read it as G T . I’m just trying to figure out insurance appraisal value. The buckle only is stamped sterling and the belt cross holders are sterling not copper. There are 9 rondelets including the buckle. I do not know the weight but you do feel it when you’re wearing it. I wish I had found your website before I cleaned *some* of the tarnish off today! If anyone finds out more about this artist please let me know? And also how exactly does one go about getting the current market value on something like this ballpark so it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

