Native American Feather Hair Ornament

Hello Paula

I would like to get a feather to wear on the side of my hair – however my hair is very fine and “thinning.” I have it cut to below ears in a “bob.” In looking at feather ornaments on your site I do not see how I could fasten one into my hair – looks like most are for ponytails, etc. Also, I would like the feather not to hang down too far. Would appreciate your advice. Thank you.

Hello !

Well, we have two types of feather hair ornaments. One type is an actual feather made into a feather hair tie. This is a Lakota tradition and the hair ties we have are made by Oglala Lakotas from South Dakota. Here is an example of some of the shorter ones we have but you can click on the photo and it will take you to the page with our current selection.

If I were affixing this type of hair ornament to my hair so it would hang down on the side like we see all the time on today’s celebrity singers and dancers, I’d section off a small bundle of hair underneath, fasten the hair tie to the hair bundle near the roots with one of those tiny rubber bands and then let the rest of your hair surround the feather so it peeks out when your hair moves.

As far as what length would work for you, the best way to determine that is with a ruler and a paper cut out in the approximate shape of a feather – hold it in place and see how it looks.

Lakota Hair Ties

As far as sterling silver hair ornaments, or barrettes, yes we have some beautiful feathers but they are quite long and some are heavy, made to hold back a large hank of hair at the nape of the neck.

They are over 3″ long and would be difficult to use as you are hoping for.

Sterling Silver Feather Barrette by Carson Blackgoat over 4″ long

Sterling Silver and Turquoise Feather Barrette by Milton Vandever – over 3″ long

Share

5 thoughts on “Native American Feather Hair Ornament

  1. Thank you for your very detailed, excellent info, Paula. What I am going to do first is make a “feather” out of heavier stock paper and try attaching to my hair in various places. The I am going to buy one of the cheap feather ornaments at discount store and see how that looks. Then I will know size, etc. to order. You know why I want to wear an authentic Native American feather – the spiritual symbology and I am a latent Steve Tyler (but not missing 2 front teeth like he is from his recent accident)!

  2. actually Steve fell in his hotel bathtub in Paraguay while in weakened from severe bout with food poisoning. I really like the way he wears feathers in his hair while being judge on American Idol.

Leave a Reply

