What do you know about this gun buckle?

Hello, I am trying to find out about a piece that my brother gave me about 25 years ago. I have had it in a drawer all this time and just came upon it last week and thought I would try to find out more about it. Not many people in this area deals in Navajo work, that’s why I am asking if maybe you would be willing to help me out? Anything you could tell me about it would be very helpful. Thanks, John

ImageImageImage

John has since sold this buckle but I thought I’d post this for interest and comments.  I don’t know the hallmark NS but we have heard of a southwest trading post store named “Silver Fox” – however that’s about ALL I know is the name !! I don’t think it is still operating. I wonder if anyone else can provide some more information about NS or Silver Fox.

Paula

4 thoughts on “What do you know about this gun buckle?

  1. What is the possibility that the buckle, or at least the buckle blank, is made of Nickel Silver? NS could stand for Nickle Silver. The last time sterling jumped in price many of the leaf components used here were stamped from Nickel Silver. I see a different color in the blank and most leaves compared to the small coil above the barrel of the gun. The coil and the stone bezels might be the only sterling components? It’s so hard to tell metal quality from a photograph.

    It’s a very interesting piece of jewelry.

  2. Hi

    Sorry to hear that. Rule of thumb lol never tell anything till have checked out yourself first. He had forgotten he even had it.

    Georgia

Leave a Reply

