Please help identify the squash blossom necklace that is passing down to our grandchild

Greetings and Thank You for taking the time to read this and hopefully view and identify the maker of this beautiful squash blossom necklace that was supposedly purchased at the Sandia Indian Reservation some 25 – 30 years ago.

CaptureHowever, the design appears to me to be of an older period when the squash blossoms resembled a winged insect while encasing the stone at the bottom. We have a modest collection now but this particular item caught my wife’s eye because of the unique pendant design and the whole necklace in general and has now made it into collection but before we pass it down to our granddaughter, who is not of the Pueblo’s but is still very much a part of the Navaho people even at 5 months old. She already has the power to pull the sun through my storm clouds….. anyway.. sorry..lol.. I want to do my diligence and get an expert eye to make sure she is getting something worth passing down to her grandchildren.. I believe the necklace to be authentic age but really seems to be of an older period. Anything you can tell us would be greatly appreciated. Again, Thank You for your time.. William

1 1A

I received the photos of your beautiful necklace William. In the meantime, even when I enlarge the back of the earring, I am having trouble seeing the hallmark. Can you read it at all?
Paula
Hi, Thank You for your fast response and I am basically having the same problem. I have to admit when I first started looking at them I thought was seeing Atsidi Sani and then a quick sanity slap brought me back to earth. My wife think she sees the name Sally or Ashley in it but I can’t be sure. Thanks again for your help, I truly hope someone recognizes the artist so perhaps we can’t get an accurate account on it’s maker and when. The earring on the right has a number across it, would this possibly be a silver registration mark that could identify the maker? Thank You again for your help… Billy
Hi Billy,
If you can send me a close up photo of the hallmark that is in focus, perhaps we can help but as is, all we are doing is guessing, thinking it looks like a name such as Etsitty or Leekity.  Is there a hallmark on the back of the necklace – perhaps it is more distinct.
I’ll watch for a better photo.
Paula

2 thoughts on “Please help identify the squash blossom necklace that is passing down to our grandchild

  1. Hi Paula and Billy,
    I bought and sold few of this style of necklace 20 or so years ago. I’m not sure it’s an older style. I thought it was just a stylized choker length necklace that used the blossom idea. I think I bought mine from one of the shops in Gallup. I don’t remember if it was built by one of their silversmiths or just bought “off the street” as smiths bring goods into town to sell.

    Because of the size of the necklace it is very wearable. It’s not as huge as a traditional squash blossom but makes a strong statement. I can’t offer any help with the maker based on the picture of the signature. I think the ones we sold had a signature on the necklace as well as the earrings.

    • Thanks Russ ! It is good to have your experience, eyes and memory about these things ! With the hallmark and Sterling stamp it does seem more like a necklace made in the last 20-30 years. I agree with you that these types of necklaces are so much more wearable than a full squash blossom necklace. Paula

Leave a Reply

