Are these items from my grandmother real?

Hi Paula,
I found your email from a blog and was wondering if you could take a look at a couple of pieces of jewelry that I inherited from my late grandmother. I know nothing about these pieces or even if they are real. Any help is greatly appreciated. There is a necklace, ring and bracelet.
Thank you so much,
Jennifer
2013-07-05 16.14.28 2013-07-05 16.14.42 2013-07-05 16.20.19 2013-07-05 16.33.00Hi Jennifer,
Yes of course they are real !! I see them and you can touch them !! All joking aside…….
Whether or not these items are Native American made or not, they are treasures since they came from your grandmother !
I’d say the necklace is Native American style but not Native American made.
The bracelet could very well be Native American made – it looks like something from the Fred Harvey era, perhaps from Bell Trading Company. You can read about that in these articles and perhaps look for some hallmarks.
As far as the ring, it is a chip inlay ring that may or may not be Native American made.  We have a similar ring in our pawn shop that tests positive for sterling silver but has no hallmarks. It came in an estate lot so we don’t know the origin of it but if you click on this photo it will take you to the page where you can read more about it and chip inlay.
PR409-412-turq-chip-butterfly-1
Enjoy your treasures !  And be sure to read the comments left by others about this post. Valuable information !
Paula

6 thoughts on “Are these items from my grandmother real?

  1. Hi Paula and Jennifer,
    Back in the 70’s and 80’s I sold 1000’s of the pewter “end of the trail” pendant on your necklace and tens of 1000’s of the plated plastic rosebud beads. None of the components are real silver. The small turquoise nuggets appear to be real turquoise but the heishi is just turquoise color.
    It could have been assembled by one of the native families who set up by the side of the road in Arizona or who sell at Pow Wows around the country. Or it cold have been strung by anyone who came into a bead store back then and bought the parts. As Paula says, it’s not “Native American Jewelry” in the sense we usually use that phrase.

    While the bracelet might be from Sunbell (if it has their hallmark) I don’t think the heart shaped ring is. For all the years I sold Sunbell, Maisel and Pacific jewelry good in my retail store I never saw them use chip inlay in the silver settings. Plus Sunbell manufactured mountings usually had the classic “Southwest style stampwork like your bracelet. There were several Albuquerque and Texas based makers of cast pewter and sterling jewelry doing small chip inlay rings like this heart ring.

  2. Hi, Paula, I love getting these emails. Very informative. Back when I was younger I bought a lot of Mexican jewelry on trips there. The ring looks like it might be Mexican. Pretty nicely finished for Mexican jewelry, but I have seen some good ones and it just kind of has that look.

    On another subject, I have a whirling log bracelet that looks like it may be Fred Harvey era. At least that’s what the guy I buy my jewelry from and I think. Would you be willing to take a look at some photos and let me know what you think? If so, I’ll send a couple to you.

    Michael

  3. I BOUGHT A ROUND PIN MARKED “STERLING BELL”. IT HAS ENCIRCLED TURQUOISE STONES IN THE MIDDLE AND INDIAN “MARKS” AROUND THE PERIMETER OF THE PIN. I MEASURES ABOUT 21/2 INCHES WIDE. COULD YOU TELL ME APPROXIMATELY WHAT THE VALUE WOULD BE ON SUCH AN OLD PIN. IT IS A VERY SHINY STERLING SILVER. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED. KATHY RYAN

  4. I know I’m pretty late one this post…. But I have that cuff, with the single round turquoise stone. It is IDENTICAL to the one in the photo, Mine is (forgive me, I could be phrasing this incorrectly, but I’m sure Paula will know what I am referring to) a “button cuff”. The setting is attached through the back of the cuff, it is the only cuff I own that is fashioned this way. Usually, as I’m sure you all already know, the turquoise setting is part of the whole piece…. With the cuff I own it is obvious the turquoise was attached separately. My cuff is not marked by an artist, shop, or for silver content… I’m curious if this one is?

Leave a Reply

