Squash Blossom Jewelry Questions

Hi Paula,
I am hoping you can help me out. I have two squash blossom necklaces. One is from my mother (late) and is a cool mother of pearl that I remember she told me that she purchased in the 70’s. The other, in blue turquoise, I acquired at a resale shop about ten years ago. I have decided to finally pull them out and start wearing them and would love to know more about them. I can’t find a stamp on either one of them. I don’t see an artist and I don’t see a silver marking either. I have taken a few pictures and would love to hear your opinion. Also, is it fashionable to polish or not polish these necklaces. Also, does it affect the value if I chose to have them lengthened or shortened? Thank so much in advance.
Colleen
Squash blossom 001Squash blossom 005Hello Colleen,
Without a hallmark, about the only thing I can say about your two lovely squash blossom necklaces is that they are vintage Navajo.
As to their silver content, that is something you can test with an acid test kit or have them tested at a pawn shop.
As far as polishing, that is a matter of personal taste. You could leave as is, clean or polish with a cloth, or completely restore as you see fit. Here is more information about cleaning jewelry.
In terms of adjusting the length, yes it would likely affect the value. For a collector, leaving a squash blossom necklace the traditional length would be best. But for “using’, depending on who did the alteration and how they did it, a shortening might increase its “value” because then it would be wearable art!
Watch for my next post which will show a squash blossom necklace that I had shortened so that I could wear it more as a “choker” than a long necklace.
Paula
To view our full list of article or to ask a jewelry question, follow the instructions here
http://www.horsekeeping.com/native-american-jewelry-artifacts.htmIf you are selling your jewelry, read this
http://www.horsekeeping.com/jewelry/pawn-buying.htmVisit our pawn shop for your research and shopping
http://www.horsekeeping.com/jewelry/pawn/pawnshop-vin.htm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8 thoughts on “Squash Blossom Jewelry Questions

  1. Personally I would not recommend physically shortening it. To make mine a bit shorter, I just cinch my hook up farther and latch between beads and I either tuck the “tail” under, or if I wear my hair up, clip a pendant on the loop for a little interest on the back side. Really fun pieces and look to be about the same era, 60’s to 70’s.

  2. Nancy…on the reverse side of the piece you have, is there an “X” marked on the parts of the necklace…like a hallmark on each segment?

  3. Recently purchased two pieces with your trading post hallmark. Squash has the name Annie Becenti. The other piece is a silver 4″ pendant that looks like a cat face with two large stones and the name Marie Kee. Can you furnish any information. Thanks
    Nancy Willman

Leave a Reply

