44 Bird Fetish Necklace – is it Native American made?

May 13, 2014

Hi Paula,

When attending a Fair in upper state NY, about 14 years ago, I purchased what I think is a bird fetish necklace, from a Native American group that attended the Fair to present a ritual dance. They brought with them difference medicine items, jewelry etc..

The colors and the bird attracted me to get it after debating for a while didn’t know if is something that I wanted or needed.  Finally after a while before leaving the fair I purchase the necklace and I paid $50 for it.

Is a 1 strand necklace, 24 inches long (with silver or silver metal clasp) and contains 44 carved birds that are each different size and shape and colors. It has after the birds 44 stones, also in different colors and shape, and small beads separate the pair (the bird and the stone) so for every pair is a small bead.

Not sure how many colors are in the necklace. I never research on line and I’m curious to know is this necklace represent a symbol on the Native American Culture. I read about the spiritual path of the Native American and has always intrigue me. 

Thank you for your time, and I hope you can give me a little information. I have seeing your web site and I love you display of jewelry.

Again thank you for your time.

Maria

!cid_17D60196-7DA9-42D6-84D1-6173F0BAA3E1 !cid_600CDB27-E2DD-415E-97BD-743CAFFDD130Dear Maria,

Thank you for your patience. As you can see, due to the volume of questions we receive, it takes about two months for a question to work its way to the top of the queue.

I’m going to have to pass on this one because I don’t recognize the style, the white beads near the cones nor the pink or blue stones or shells used for the birds.

I’m just not familiar with this particular type of fetish necklace so when that occurs, I err on the side of caution and say “Not Native American made” to the best of my knowledge.

Perhaps another reader has seen a necklace something like this and can say one way or another.

It is lovely and especially how you have displayed it in the shape of a heart.

As always, it is best at the time of purchase to obtain all the information and a Certificate of Authenticity if possible and tuck it away with the item.

Paula

To view our full list of article or to ask a jewelry question, follow the instructions here

http://www.horsekeeping.com/native-american-jewelry-artifacts.htm

If you are selling your jewelry, read this

http://www.horsekeeping.com/jewelry/pawn-buying.htm

Visit our pawn shop for your research and shopping

http://www.horsekeeping.com/jewelry/pawn/pawnshop-vin.htm

NF378-16-bird-28-goodluck-4

2 thoughts on “44 Bird Fetish Necklace – is it Native American made?

Leave a Reply

