Is this pendant marked “HOPI HAND MADE” a fake?

Hello Paula

I hope you can help me.  I purchased a silver beaded chain necklace (1 long bead, 2 round beads) and what looks like a thunderhead pendant an online auction today — and will pick up tomorrow…

I am trying to research the mark, and now am afraid that it’s a fake.

It’s marked

HAND MADE
HOPI

From the photos I can’t see any other marks on the back of the pendant and

I haven’t been able to find this mark anywhere on the internet, hopefully you can help me.

Thank you very much!  I really appreciate that you do this service for people.

I will wait with baited breath for the answer…
hopefully it’s good news and not bad!

Thanks

Karen

CLOSE UP!cid_tie_8D14E41EC7D61E4_3218_6924A!cid_tie_8D14E41ED74F14C_3218_6924EHi Karen,

I have never seen the hallmark

HAND MADE

HOPI

nor does it appear in any of my reference books.

Furthermore, when I look at the pendant I see at least two things that are not characteristic of Hopi work.

First the stamping around the bird’s tail – stamping is not usually seen on Hopi silver work. That would be associated more with Navajo silversmithing.

Secondly, the background that the overlay is placed on top of is smooth, not textured. Hopi under layers are usually textured.

Perhaps another reader of this blog has seen the stamping on the back before. But from my knowledge and experience, I can’t provide any information for you which authenticates it.

Paula

To view our full list of article or to ask a jewelry question, follow the instructions here

http://www.horsekeeping.com/native-american-jewelry-artifacts.htm

If you are selling your jewelry, read this

http://www.horsekeeping.com/jewelry/pawn-buying.htm

Visit our pawn shop for your research and shopping

http://www.horsekeeping.com/jewelry/pawn/pawnshop-vin.htm

NBU184-koko-maze-josytewa-1

Cyrus Josytewa Hopi Sterling Silver Overlay Kokopelli Man in the Maze Buckle

 

One thought on “Is this pendant marked “HOPI HAND MADE” a fake?

  1. Thank you very much for your reply and your research. I will beware in the future from buying from online auctions!

Leave a Reply

