Can you Identify this Dooney & Bourke bag for me please?

PLEASE VISIT MY NEW BLOG DEVOTED ENTIRELY TO VINTAGE DOONEY & BOURKE HANDBAGS http://vintagedooneybourke.wordpress.com/

Hi Paula

I was wondering if it was possible for you to identify the name of a vintage D&B AWL bag for me? I looked on your site with no match, and I was hoping as D&B enthusiasts you would be able to help me.
Many thanks,
Stephanie

Fake, Knock-Off, not a Dooney & Bourke Bag

Hi Stephanie,

That bag is a fake,- it is so bad that I can’t even call it a knock-off – there are so many signs just from the one photo that this is not a Dooney & Bourke bag.

First of all, Dooney & Bourke never made a style even remotely like this bag.

D&B never had a bag with braided trim like that.

The buckle affair on the front – another complete fabrication.

The way the shoulder strap is attached to the trigger snaps is not the way done by D&B.

Also the two tone thin shoulder strap is another dead giveaway that this is an imposter. The only D&B bag that had two tone straps was the Surrey line with a wide padded two tone strap.

The base of this bag looks like vinyl which makes me wonder if the entire bag is vinyl. Many of the fake D&B bags I’ve seen are made of vinyl, rather than All Weather Leather.

So it is the worst of the worst !

But thank you for checking before listing it on eBay as an authentic Dooney & Bourke bag. There are so many fakes like this and knock-offs that are being listed on eBay as authentic D&B bags, that unsuspecting buyers bid on them thinking they are getting a real Dooney.

Here is an authentic vintage Dooney & Bourke bag. You can read about characteristics of Dooney & Bourke handbags on our website.

Authentic Vintage Dooney & Bourke Carrier Handbag

Paula

13 thoughts on “Can you Identify this Dooney & Bourke bag for me please?

  1. I saw the same bag for sale on etsy and busy-bodied my way to tell the seller about it. Funny, I never thought about fake bags until a couple of days ago when I decided to buy a second hand purse. Today I saw the absolutely most horrible fake Dooney ever at Goodwill; wish I’d had a camera. It was all vinyl with a glued on embossed duck, and it was u.g.l.y. Much worse than this one.

    I’m curious about some bags I saw on ebay that have a complicated brass latch:
    They look nice, but wrong somehow. Did DB ever make a purse with a hook latch like that?, or an orange purse?

  2. I just bought a so called authentic dooney and bourke vintage briefcase on eBay…. I have so many bags that I was able to tell right away when I received it. It’s so disappointing. But at least Paypal is so good and I will get my money back. I purchased another bag months ago that is sitting in my closet that is also fake. I saw on another website someone actually dissect the bags. I’m thinking about doing that. I refuse to use these bags. They are soooo crappy! Plastic fantastic as I would call it.
    How do I post pics? I would like to cut them in half and share what garbage they are made from. Would anyone be interested in seeing that??
    Also, with etsy.. I have seen so many fakes on there. It sucks because you are not supposed to sell fake bags on that site either and it makes it hard to tell what’s real and what’s not…

    Thanks for listening. 🙂

  3. My Mother has this bag and was told it is a knock-off. I’m thinking that might be a correct statement, but want to make sure before I tell her. I’ve researched, but now I’m just more dumb-founded. Please help a guy out. Thank you.

  4. I purchased this handbag off ebay, and I believe it is a fake Dooney and Bourke purse. Please help….. I have pictures, but didn’t know how to upload them.

  5. I recently purchase a bag online similar to the Pebbled grain Dooney and Bourke crossbody. The material doesn’t feel like leather and the zipper is stamped meras from Italy. Do you know if this is possibly a fake ? Thanks !

Leave a comment