Wesley Craig AKA Wes Craig, Navajo Jeweler

Navajo artist Wesley Craig, born 1959 in Gallup, New Mexico, has been actively making jewelry since 1974. Son of Robert Etsitty Craig Jr. and Marie Craig, he was taught his craft by his mother Marie.

His hallmark is usually Wes Craig in script inside a feather but he also has used WC. Often he adds IHMSS – Indian Hand Made Sterling Silver.

Sometimes the Running Bear shop mark (RB inside a bear) is also included which would indicate he made the item at Running Bear Trading Co in Gallup, New Mexico.

His brother, Hyson Craig, is also a notable Navajo jeweler.

Paula

1 thought on “Wesley Craig AKA Wes Craig, Navajo Jeweler

  1. I found a ring with the stamp m. craig. I believe to be your mothers handywork. It’s beautiful with a green colored turquoise stone. I would love to find out more about it. Can you tell me where I could
    send a picture and if you are even interested in helping me. Thanks so much

Leave a comment