What does the Dooney & Bourke Registration Number Mean?

PLEASE VISIT MY NEW BLOG DEVOTED ENTIRELY TO VINTAGE DOONEY & BOURKE HANDBAGS http://vintagedooneybourke.wordpress.com/
Hi Paula,
I have a vintage Dooney bag. I checked your site for  authenticity and it checks out – the only thing I can’t figure out is how you tell the date it was made or sold – my purse I found would be minimally a 9 on your quality scale and I haven’t been able to find another one like it online. The ID number is A6 317269. How do you know what those numbers mean? Jessica
Hi Jessica,
The number that is on the back of the sewn-in tag indicates where in the US and when the bag was made. All of the Identifying Characteristics of Vintage AWL Dooney & Bourke bags are discussed on our website.
If you want to know specifically, you’d have to contact Dooney & Bourke directly although finding someone there who is knowledgeable or interested in the vintage bags is often difficult.
In the right hand column of this blog, you’ll see a list called “Categories” and under it is an expanded list of all topics on this blog. Scroll down to the Dooney & Bourke heading and click on it. You will then see all the articles related to your query.

Share

14 thoughts on “What does the Dooney & Bourke Registration Number Mean?

  1. Hi Paula,

    I picked up what I think is a vintage dooney and bourke bag this weekend at an antique mall. Could you give me any info on it? Im wondering when it was made and approx what it is worth. Its in excellent condition. It is black canvas hand bag with signature logos and it has leather handles. The serial number is K007093.

    Any info you have would be helpful!

    Thank you, Miranda

  2. Have a purse with the serial # m6678825 can u tell me anything about it got it at garage sale would like to know if I got a good deal

  3. Found a older dooney, large bag, all black, has black stitched on logo at bottom of front, red and blue tag sew in top stich, numbers on back are a 148977, has one middle strap that buckles in front, and the the little hanging gold tag with the duck on it, wanting info on it please

  4. Could you please give me any information you can on my bag. It’s an awl bucket bag I believe. It’s in good condition and the serial number is A1246713. Thank you very much.

Leave a comment